OK Policy announces three new board members

The Oklahoma Policy Institute has announced the addition of three new members for its board of directors.

Joining the OK Policy Board of Directors are: Susan Bynum, Beverly K. Carmichael, and Ashley Harris Philippsen, who are all Tulsa residents.

“An organization like OK Policy that is working to effect statewide change requires dynamic leadership with a broad array of experience and talents, and our new board members certainly clear that high bar,” OK Policy Board Chair Dr. Joe Siano said. “These new members are well positioned to help strengthen the organization’s work and create deeper connections throughout the state.”


Susan Bynum

Susan Bynum is an attorney with Frederic Dorwart, Lawyers PLCC where she focuses much of her practice on business and corporate law compliance, federal political law compliance, and employment law. Prior to her current role with Frederic Dorwart, her work experience focused on government relations at the federal level. She consulted for clients in the aerospace, health care, and financial services industries. She graduated with honors from the University of Tulsa College of Law in 2017 and was a 2000 graduate of the University of Oklahoma where she received her Bachelor of Arts in Journalism-Public Relations and many accolades including Top Ten Senior and the Bronze Letzseizer Award.


Beverly K. Carmichael

Beverly K. Carmichael is a former C-suite executive having served as the top HR executive at several organizations including Southwest Airlines, Ticketmaster, and Cracker Barrel Old Country Store. She is also an attorney and was the top labor lawyer at heavily unionized Southwest Airlines for many years. Beverly recently retired and moved home to Tulsa. She served on the Board of Directors at Leaf Group (NYSE: LEAF) until its acquisition by Graham Holdings Company (NYSE: GHC). She also has served on the boards of several non-profit professional organizations, including the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) and the Women’s Foodservice Forum (WFF). Beverly attended public school in Tulsa and earned Bachelor of Business Administration and Juris Doctorate degrees from the University of Oklahoma, where she has also served as an Adjunct Professor at the Price College of Business.


Ashley Harris Philippsen

Ashley Harris Philippsen serves as ImpactTulsa’s Senior Director of Community Engagement and Advocacy where she partners with teams to drive policy, systems-change, and programs that create sustainable outcomes for students in the Greater Tulsa area. She is a systems, culture, and equity coach with more than a decade of experience in education, leadership development, civic engagement, and school and curriculum design. Her previous professional experience includes  Executive Director at Met Cares, Managing Director of Teacher Leadership Development at Teach For America, Founding Dean of Students at YES Prep Public Schools, and Deputy Chief of Community Development and Policy at the City of Tulsa. She graduated with honors from the University of Oklahoma.


During the June meeting, the Board of Directors also recognized the service of longtime board member Andrew Tevington, who stepped down earlier this year.

OK Policy is an independent non-profit that seeks to advance equitable and fiscally responsible policies that expand opportunity for all Oklahomans through nonpartisan research, analysis, and advocacy. The organization is governed by a board of directors that includes Chair Dr. Joseph Siano, Vice Chair Erika Lucas, Treasurer Charles Garrett, Secretary Jeff Berrong, Kara Berst, Ann-Clore Duncan, Dr. John Feaver, Ken Ferguson, Caroline Guerra Wolf, Dr. Holbrook Lawson, and Dr. John Schumann. 

For more information, visit okpolicy.org.


David Hamby has more than 25 years of experience as an award-winning communicator, including overseeing communication programs for Oklahoma higher education institutions and other organizations. Before joining OK Policy, he was director of public relations for Rogers State University where he managed the school’s external communication programs and served as a member of the president’s leadership team. He served in a similar communications role for five years at the University of Tulsa. He also has worked in communications roles at Oklahoma State University and the Fort Smith Chamber of Commerce in Arkansas. He joined OK Policy in October 2019.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.