Schumann joins OK Policy board

The Oklahoma Policy Institute is honored to announce that University of Oklahoma-Tulsa President John H. Schumann, MD, has joined its board of directors.

“We’re excited to have someone with Dr. Schumann’s significant experience that strengthens our board’s expertise, especially in the many places where public policy intersects with health care and education,” said OK Policy Board Chair Don Millican. 

Dr. Schumann has served as OU-Tulsa’s president since 2015 following his earlier appointments with the university as an associate professor, director of its residency program, and Vice Chair of Education for the Department of Internal Medicine. 

His scholarly work includes research and advocacy on the ethics of profit-driven commercial screening tests and analyses of patients that leave hospitals against medical advice. He also has authored the blog GlassHospital since 2010, writing regular posts aimed at demystifying medicine and bringing transparency to health care and policy for lay audiences. His essays have been frequently published by national publications and leading health and patient advocacy blogs. 

He earned a Bachelor of Arts in History from Yale University and worked for the United States Information Agency in Washington, D.C. before shifting his focus to medicine. He earned his medical degree from Case Western Reserve University in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio. He completed residency at Cambridge Hospital in Massachusetts, where he served as Chief Resident in Internal Medicine.

In addition to his presidency at OU-Tulsa, Dr. Schumann is the developer, co-producer and host of the radio program “Medical Mondays” on Tulsa’s local NPR station, KWGS 89.5-FM. His weekly show explores health care and the human condition. He has also contributed to the national NPR radio programs, “Marketplace” and “All Things Considered.”

Dr. Schumann is married to Dr. Sarah-Anne Henning Schumann, who is a Regional Chief Medical Officer for United Healthcare. Together they have a daughter, Noa, and a son, Jesse.

OK Policy is an independent non-profit that seeks to advance equitable and fiscally responsible policies that expand opportunity for all Oklahomans through nonpartisan research, analysis, and advocacy. The organization is governed by a board of directors that includes Chair Don Millican, Vice Chair Felcia Collins Correia, Past Chair Ann-Clore Duncan, Charles Garrett, Dr. Joseph Siano, Jeff Berrong, Kara Berst, Dr. John Feaver, Ken Ferguson, Dr. Holbrook Lawson, Erika Lucas, and Andrew Tevington. 

For more information, visit 


David Hamby has more than 25 years of experience as an award-winning communicator, including overseeing communication programs for Oklahoma higher education institutions and other organizations. Before joining OK Policy, he was director of public relations for Rogers State University where he managed the school’s external communication programs and served as a member of the president’s leadership team. He served in a similar communications role for five years at the University of Tulsa. He also has worked in communications roles at Oklahoma State University and the Fort Smith Chamber of Commerce in Arkansas. He joined OK Policy in October 2019.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.