Banker, education leader join OK Policy Board

Oklahoma Policy Institute is pleased to announce that NBC Oklahoma Chairman Ken Fergeson and Edmond Public School Superintendent David Goin have joined the organization’s Board of Directors.

“We are delighted to be adding two outstanding individuals, Ken Fergeson and David Goin, who have made great contributions to the state through their professional careers and community service,” said Vince LoVoi, OK Policy’s Board Chair. “David and Ken will add to our tradition of building a strong board that reflects the political, geographic, and professional diversity of our state.”

2011Ken-FergesonFergeson, a resident of Altus, is chairman of NBC Oklahoma, a state chartered bank with nine locations in Altus, Enid, Kingfisher, Oklahoma City and Tulsa. A past chairman of the American Bankers Association, he continues to be active with the Oklahoma Bankers Association and the ONE Awards of the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits. A passionate supporter of the arts, Fergeson is current chairman of the Mid-America Arts Alliance Board and immediate past chairman of the national organization, Americans for the Arts.  He serves on the boards of various arts associations including the Oklahoma Humanities Council, Oklahoma Arts Institute, the OAI Foundation Board, the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum Associate Board, Oklahomans for the Arts, the Three Rivers Foundation for the Arts and Sciences, and the Oklahoma State University Postal Plaza Art Museum. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 2009 and received the Oklahoma Governor’s Arts Awards in 2009 and 2014.

David Goin2Goin has served as Superintendent of Edmond Public Schools since 1999 and has been a public school teacher and administrator with the Moore, Norman and Edmond public school districts since 1980.  He has served on the University of Oklahoma’s Rainbolt College of Education Board of Advocates and as a trustee of the Edmond Economic Development Authority. In 2008 Goin was recognized as the OASA Oklahoma School Administrator of the Year and in January of 2014 he received the Citizens Bank of Edmond “Citizen of the Year Award”. A native of Waurika, he graduated from Abilene (TX) Christian University, later earning masters and doctoral degrees from the University of Oklahoma.

“I know that David and Ken are passionate about making Oklahoma a better place and are strongly committted to our mission of ensuring that policy debates and decisions are guided by data-driven information,” said David Blatt, OK Policy’s Executive Director. “I look forward to working closely with both of them in the years ahead,”

Oklahoma Policy Institute is a non-partisan, non-profit think-tank based in Tulsa. In addition to Chair LoVoi, its Board of Directors includes Ann-Clore Duncan, Linda Edmondson, John Feaver, Don Millican, Susan Neal and Nancy Robertson.


Former Executive Director David Blatt joined OK Policy in 2008 and served as its Executive Director from 2010 to 2019. He previously served as Director of Public Policy for Community Action Project of Tulsa County and as a budget analyst for the Oklahoma State Senate. He has a Ph.D. in political science from Cornell University and a B.A. from the University of Alberta. David has been selected as Political Scientist of the Year by the Oklahoma Political Science Association, Local Social Justice Champion by the Dan Allen Center for Social Justice, and Public Citizen of the Year by the National Association of Social Workers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.