Meet our new Board members!

Oklahoma Policy Institute is excited to announce the appointment of three new members to our Board of Directors – Kara Berst of Ada, Dr. Jason Kirksey of Stillwater, and Erika Lucas of Oklahoma City.

Kara Berst

“Kara, Jason, and Erika are all successful young professionals who will add geographic, occupational, ethnic, and political diversity to OK Policy’s governing body and ensure that the organization continues to expand its scope and impact among key constituencies across Oklahoma,” said current Board chair Ann-Clore Duncan of Edmond. 

Kara Berst is Executive Officer of Business Sustainability and Auxiliary Services for the Chickasaw Nation and is part of the Chickasaw Nation’s leadership team on water planning efforts. She has been employed with the Chickasaw Nation since 2003.  She received her bachelor’s degree in Biology from East Central University and master’s degree in Business Administration from Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

Dr. Jason Kirksey

Dr. Jason Kirksey is the Vice President for Institutional Diversity and the Chief Diversity Officer at Oklahoma State University, where he is also an Associate Professor of Political Science. He holds a BA in Political Science and Economics and an MA in Political Science from Oklahoma State University and a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of New Orleans.

Erika Lucas is the founder and CEO of StitchCrew, a consultancy and project management firm supporting technology startups in the Midwest and venture capital firms looking to invest outside traditional tech hubs. Prior to launching StitchCrew, Erika was Vice President of Marketing and Communications of a private equity firm and served as Global Director and led the Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) and Trade for the Oklahoma Department of Commerce.

Erika Lucas

OK Policy, which will be celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2018, now has a 14-member Board of Directors. In addition to Duncan and the three new members, Board members include Susan Chambers, Felicia Collins Correia, Dr. John Feaver, Ken Fergeson, Chuck Garrett, Dr. Holbrook Lawson, Vince LoVoi, Don Millican, Joe Siano, and Andrew Tevingon.

OK Policy is an independent, non-partisan based think-tank that promotes adequate, fair, and fiscally responsible funding of public services and expanded opportunity for all Oklahomans by providing timely and credible information, analysis, and ideas.


Former Executive Director David Blatt joined OK Policy in 2008 and served as its Executive Director from 2010 to 2019. He previously served as Director of Public Policy for Community Action Project of Tulsa County and as a budget analyst for the Oklahoma State Senate. He has a Ph.D. in political science from Cornell University and a B.A. from the University of Alberta. David has been selected as Political Scientist of the Year by the Oklahoma Political Science Association, Local Social Justice Champion by the Dan Allen Center for Social Justice, and Public Citizen of the Year by the National Association of Social Workers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.